Untitled Poem

Hello there, honey,
Here’s the money you asked from me,
And I’m truly, truly sorry,
If ten dollars is all that I can bring to you,
Today.

And if you need more golden liquid,
To fill your cup,
I’d take all of my grandma’s jewels,
And sell them to the shop.
You know I’d do anything for you
And me

Like to leave someday,
And take you out of this town.
Then maybe all our debts won’t come
Hanging around.
Maybe my momma will be proud of me,
And our names be spoken of, highly,
By people who tried to bring us down.

Till then, pass me the kitchen knife
And our rusty pot,
I’ll cook you dinner,
You better eat a lot!

Wishin we could leave this town,
I am wishin we could leave this town,
Without a sound, this town,
We are in.

—-

Leave a Reply

